Update Your Copy Of Adobe Reader Now!

I’ve been knocked offline for 24 hours, fighting a host of infections that broke through my line of defenses yesterday.

What’s interesting is that I paid for not updating Adobe Reader even after seeing all the warnings about PDF exploits.

One of the infections came via a PDF that I never downloaded.

It somehow got in and parked itself in a TEMP file folder and did whatever it wanted to do. Apparently part of that was inviting some friends in!

One of the eighteen things raping my PC yesterday was this.

I didn’t keep the names of the others. They’re in the logfiles of the program I used to remove the above as well as an Avast! logfile that snuffed the remaining four — one of which was an infected PDF the other program didn’t see.

I swear I got all this yesterday by clicking on a link to a legitimate site. Suddenly a popup about requiring a plugin happened and Fox just dropped dead. While it was frozen, I called up Task Manager and saw that Adobe Reader had been launched in the background!

Anyway, update that sucker right now to close one loophole.

Now I have to catch up on all the news.

I doubt if there will be any other posts today.

3 Responses to Update Your Copy Of Adobe Reader Now!

  1. clive says:

    Buy a Mac.

    • mikecane says:

      The standard glib answer that ignores this fact: You’d never know if you were passing along a PDF that was infected.

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by mikecane: NEW POST: Update Your Copy Of Adobe Reader Now! http://tinyurl.com/yhjv4f3 @jafurtado @glecharles @jane_l @Booksquare @ljndawson @liza…

Leave a Reply

