Writer Eddie Wright: Broken Bulbs

Over at eGether, I got a connection request from someone named Eddie Wright. He’s not someone I Follow on Twitter and not someone who has pinged on my brain before. I approved the request and then decided to see what I had gotten myself into.

He has a blog which commits the mortal sin of white type on a black background, shredding any eyeballs that rest upon it.

He’s written a novel called Broken Bulbs, which I kinda might have heard about in passing somewhere. So I start reading it, then copy and paste the text into WordPad so my eyeballs don’t melt.

I read the first chapter. WTF? I read the second chapter. WTF? I read the third chapter. I go on to read six freakin chapters. And I hate reading on a desktop screen.

I’ve got these words. I’ve got this nonsense. I’ve got this shit. I’ve got these things ready to pour out of me. I’ve got this vomit. I’ve got this bile. I’ve got this blood that’s ready to spill. From the gut. From the soul. Twisting, turning, tearing. From the gut and soul and balls and the brains, in that order it moves. Twisting and turning and tearing. I’ve got this pain. I’ve got this ugliness. I’ve got this beauty ready to be unleashed. I’ve got this beast. I’ve got this creature. I’ve got this man. They’re ready to fight for me. I’ve got these things. These things are ready to go. These things are ready to fly. These things are ready to run.

This book is a trip.

I then see that it’s on Smashwords. And that’s where I’d kinda heard of it before. It turns out it’s in my Smashwords library as one of those books to buy in the future.

If you’ve got a device to read this on, go buy it.

6 Responses to Writer Eddie Wright: Broken Bulbs

  1. I bought the 3D version via Lulu, on Henry Baum’s recommendation a couple of weeks ago. Haven’t gotten around to reading it yet, but it passed the initial skim and random flip tests.

  2. barbara says:

    I’ll check it out, as well….I am really hooked on ebooks now.

    3D??????????????

  3. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by bonnieisgood: RT @mikecane: NEW POST: Writer Eddie Wright: Broken Bulbs http://tinyurl.com/yklrdhv @jafurtado @nguyen @ewdi @c_daviEs @rjkeller…

  4. A. Sparrow says:

    It’s great! Thanks for the tip. That kind of voice and style is hard to pull off convincingly. Many fail. I don’t even dare try, but he does it well.

Leave a Reply

