Human Sacrifice, Dogs And Cats Living Together, Mass Hysteria!

PETER: Or you could accept the fact that this city is headed for a disaster of biblical proportions.

MAYOR: What do you mean, biblical?

RAY: What he means is Old Testament biblical, Mr. Mayor. Real wrath-of-God-type stuff. Fire and brimstone coming from the sky! Rivers and seas boiling!

EGON: Forty years of darkness! Earthquakes! Volcanoes!

WINSTON: The dead rising from the grave!

PETER: Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together, mass hysteria!

Why I’m so excited

Jane realized she could pitch a nontraditional story and potentially be amply rewarded if she hit a popular vein.

This part of our lunch I’d been expecting – I’d even honed my talking points – when the completely unexpected happened. Jane pitched me a book. A historical military mystery.

And I began to get excited. In the olden days when I used to edit print books, I would have been intrigued by this idea but I would also have been trying to fit it into an existing category. After all, I couldn’t just make up a category. Instead I would most likely have asked Jane to increase the romance, make the mystery more thriller-like or women-in-jeopardy type storyline and possibly move the story to Regency times.

But now I’m free. I can ask Jane to write the book she envisions and if I love it as much as she does then we’ll publish it. Our brilliant marketers will create a plan on how to sell it as a historical military mystery. Boo Yah!

Boldfaced emphasis added by me.

One Response to Human Sacrifice, Dogs And Cats Living Together, Mass Hysteria!

  1. Jane says:

    I think this is why Harlequin Books is really so innovative. They want to sell good stories to whomever wants to buy them.

Leave a Reply

