Writer Josh Olson: Always Say No!

I Will Not Read Your Fucking Script

This is the Truth:

It rarely takes more than a page to recognize that you’re in the presence of someone who can write, but it only takes a sentence to know you’re dealing with someone who can’t.

(By the way, here’s a simple way to find out if you’re a writer. If you disagree with that statement, you’re not a writer. Because, you see, writers are also readers.)

And for all those people who constantly want me to read their stuff, this is the Truth too:

Now, I normally have a standard response to people who ask me to read their scripts, and it’s the simple truth: I have two piles next to my bed. One is scripts from good friends, and the other is manuscripts and books and scripts my agents have sent to me that I have to read for work. Every time I pick up a friend’s script, I feel guilty that I’m ignoring work. Every time I pick something up from the other pile, I feel guilty that I’m ignoring my friends. If I read yours before any of that, I’d be an awful person.

I have my own damned queue of stuff to read. You either wait your damned turn or you never get read at all. And hey, if I bump someone to the top who’s Not You, that’s my damned privilege.

Leave a Reply

