SmartQ 7 As eBook Reader

The punchline first: This device has a domestic (China) MSRP of just US$189.00. Seven-inch color touchscreen, Linux-based OS, WiFi, battery life of 8-12 hours.

Steve Paine (aka Chippy) at UMPC Portal first made me aware of this device via Twitter about two weeks ago. I was very skeptical because the website and ordering instructions seemed sketchy. Being an adventurous lad, Chippy was undeterred and went about arranging a safe way to purchase (via Paypal, rather than the wire transfer methods touted on the website!).

Once he got it, he put it through a live two-hour-plus UStream videocast. All of which I happened to miss (damn you again, Twitter!).

Steve knows I’m interested in eBook developments, so when he saw that FBReader was installed on the SmartQ 7, he did a demonstration just for that.

Here’s the video:

He also posted several photos at Flickr, one of which I’m cloning because it’s very impressive:


Click = big

Note that it shows version 0.8.17 pre-installed. The latest version is 0.10.07 and it can do DRM-free ePub. I hope Chippy gets curious — as he usually does — and sees if it’s possible to upgrade FBReader to the latest version.

4 Responses to SmartQ 7 As eBook Reader

  1. shayera says:

    That’s pretty damn impressive. I think I want one. But with no cash to spend, I’ll hold off.

  2. Mike Cane says:

    Well, they always seem impressive. But in hand, crushing reality often sets in and disappointment blooms.

    See this.

  3. M asad says:

    It looks nice, nice screen, slow and sluggish (ok with that)

    However, after power on the device, it showed sort of login screen.
    The reset/reinstall firmware/using a USB keyboard for login won't work. It is now two weeks on the shelf.
    I contacted the electro guys, and there is no answer yet (they do not know). there is no way to access the device and do anything. simlpy, I will never recomment it. I wish I got another devise that has people to support it rather than do not know.

    This is just an advise. Good luck though

  4. Anonymous says:

    Well the way that I get it to connect to the pc is with it running i hook up the cable. Then hit the power switch for a second and it gives u access to the device's card

Leave a Reply

